Dive into Leith’s famous maritime history and discover an outstanding collection of maritime treasures. Once the base of the Incorporation of Mariners and Shipmasters, Trinity House has proudly stood in Leith’s Kirkgate since at least 1555. Established to help sailors in need, it grew to play a key role in the development of the port and is a reminder of Leith’s great heritage. Explore the building for yourself and step into a nautical world.
South Leith Parish Church
South Leith Parish Church, founded in 1483, has been the ‘Church in the Midst’, the historic parish church in Leith for over 500 years. Our historic building, redesigned by Thomas Hamilton in 1847, has within it many historical and architectural items of great interest including a unique hammer beam roof and magnificent stained-glass windows. The church has many royal connections including the coat of arms of Mary of Guise and Mary Queen of Scots.
Leith Town Hall and Sheriff Court – no times noted
Leith Town Hall and Sheriff Court are situated within Leith Police station. Built in 1828 to a design by R. and R. Dicksans, the building contains the Victorian debating chamber, more commonly referred to as the old Leith town hall, unaltered since 1864, and the former Leith Sheriff Court. The Alexander Carse painting ‘The landing of King George the IV’ is on display within the town hall.
St. Mary’s Star of The Sea
A Pugin & Son designed church in a classic style constructed between | 852-54. One of the side altars is dedicated to Mary Star of the Sea, the patron saint of Leith since the 12th Century. The Church has over 20 stained glass windows, and a new baptismal font by local sculptress Graciela, Ainsworth.
Granton Castle Walled Garden — 11am — 3pm maybe an extra???
An opportunity to visit Granton’s very own secret garden, hidden away on Edinburgh’s waterfront. The Walled Garden was once attached to Granton Castle, which was built in the late 15th century, rebuilt in 1544, refurbished in the |7th century, and finally demolished in 1921. The Walled Garden survived and was cultivated across the centuries. Volunteers have been working since May 2017 to transform the overgrown space into a beautiful and publicly accessible area for locals and visitors alike to enjoy.