Chair’s welcome message

Check it out here!

LHNCC members

Chair Douglas Tharby chair@lhncc.org.uk
Vice-chair Elaine Dick elaine.dick@lhncc.org.uk
Secretary Jennifer Marlborough secretary@lhncc.org.uk
Treasurer Douglas Tharby treasurer@lhncc.org.uk
Engagement officer Neil Tulloch neil.tulloch@lhncc.org.uk
All office-bearers were re-appointed at LHNCC’s AGM on 22 June 2021.
Other elected and co-opted members (most elected September 2019)
Stewart Auld Arthur W Young
Rob Levick resigned from LHNCC to pursue other interests June 2020.
Nominated local interest groups (and their representatives, who are voting members of LHNCC)
  • Friends of Water of Leith Basin (Don Giles)
  • Leith Rotary (Jim Preacher)
Associate and ex-officio members
 Bruce Ryan
(minutes secretary)
Deidre Brock MP
Ben Macpherson MSP
Cllr Chas Booth
Cllr Katrina Faccenda
Cllr Adam McVey

Members are usually elected every 4 years, but individuals who demonstrate a commitment or have a local knowledge or expertise can be co-opted between elections.  If you would like to become a member then please contact us.

The Community Council is made up of local people who have the support of at least two of their neighbours and are willing to regularly attend the monthly meetings. If you would like to become a Community Council member, you can find more information here.

In addition  local groups can be co-opted onto the council – see the ‘nominated groups’ above.

LHNCC’s area

This map shows the area covered by Leith Harbour and Newhaven Community Council. If your street is not inside the shaded area below then you need to find the community council that operates in your geographical area. Click here to see a map of all Edinburgh community councils.


What a CC does

A Community Council consists of local people and interest groups who represent their community.  Local views are put forward by the community council to the local authority and other organisations such as Scottish government, NHS Lothian and the police.

Community representation is done by various methods such as communication with the local authority by highlighting issues; meeting public officials; holding public meetings; carrying out surveys; meeting with other community councils; and arranging events to promote Community Council interests and issues.

The local authority has a duty to consult and inform the Community Council on services, licensing and other issues that affect their neighbourhood.  A Community Council has a statutory right to be consulted on local planning.

If you’d like to go into further detail:

A Community Council has statutory roles and powers in accordance with Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973. Local authorities are required by law to set up a Scheme for the establishment of community councils.  This Scheme sets out rules and regulations, election procedures, boundaries and membership requirements.

More information can be found at  www.edinburgh.gov.uk/communitycouncils

A Community Council elects office bearers including chairperson, secretary and treasurer who are typically elected every 3 years.  The Chair is the principal Community Council representative and must have sound knowledge of the Scheme for Community Councils and its Constitution.

The Secretary’s basic responsibilities are formally representing the community council, dealing with correspondence and being well-informed about all aspects of the community council’s activities and interests.  The Chair and Secretary need to liaise closely so that meetings are well prepared for and meetings run smoothly.

The Treasurer oversees community council funds, keeping accurate financial records.  Reports are given at each community council meeting.  Community Councils receive an annual grant from the local authority and in addition the community council can fundraise on their initiative.